SKYWALK Saint John is a local attraction including a theatre, a rooftop deck and the SKYWALK observation platform.
This facility opened on August 16th, 1954 with much celebration. It was proudly introduced as “ultra modern” and featured inclined glass windows and a rooftop observation deck. The entire roof is made of wood boards placed on edge and fastened together to form a “milled deck”. Milled decks are famous for their strength. The milled deck roof is supported by massive steel beams … some of which can be seen in the entrance area. The beams are supported by steel columns anchored to a 10″ monolithic concrete and steel foundation supported by bedrock.
Rooftop access was formerly provided via a staircase on the outside wall near the fireplace. Walking a staircase located above the edge of a 110′ rock face would have been a scary experience in itself !
In 1972 the “Chandelier Room” was added to the restaurant and a rooftop theatre built.
During the 1970’s the site proudly represented Saint John. Two previous restaurateurs provided excellent food and hospitality … the site grew in popularity to eventually become known as “Eastern Canada’s Greatest Tourist Attraction”. Advertisements declared the rapids below “Illuminated at Night”.
In recent decades municipal priorities changed and the site went into disrepair. Then in 2015 Max Kotlowski started a complete renovation of the facility. The old theatre was replaced with a new larger theatre, the rooftop deck space was expanded and the observation deck was extended off the building with a stainless steel and glass cantilever platform.
An electric 21 person elevator was added to make the SKYWALK Saint John attraction wheelchair accessible.
Future plans include adding a geodesic dome and a special “virtual reality” film teaching about life in the land and waters of the Bay of Fundy.